1001 Nights - Stories of Traditional Handcrafts from Egypt

History of Garagos Pottery and more ……….

15 February 2012 - My first attempt at blogging using Dragon Naturally Speaking

I have just uploaded the Dragon NaturallySpeaking software. It is taken about 10 min to set up the user profile and I am now using the software to dictate my first blog using this method.

I think I need to invest some time in watching the online tutorial as this software seems to have a lot of capabilities. On this first outing am quite impressed that I can just talk into my microphone and the words appear in front of me. At first it seems a little stilted but I'm amazed at the words it recognises instantly.

Apparently I have to train the software and ensure that any corrections are made as I go along, entering any incorrect words into the dictionary. But this is really easy to do.

I'm talking to normal speed and it's even coping with my northern flat vowels :-) and so far I have only had to correct one word -vowells - again it seems to be struggling with the word vowells and Trying to replace it with fouls or bowels or fowls.

Fingers crossed that this is the solution I've been looking for to make blogging a lot easier and quicker. Tomorrow night I'm going to try using my digital voice recorder and then download the files and see how the software copes with it.

So far, so good.